Cart 0 items: $0.00


Qty Item Description Price Total
  Subtotal $0.00

View Cart

Your Account  |  Login

Explore the wonderful Burgundy region from North to South by clicking on the regional maps to the left. As with any good tour of an appellation or wine-growing region, it is helpful to have an idea of the country's overall shape and geography before getting detailed. We have included a map of the Hexagone, France's nickname (notice its unique shape), to help you begin your journey from Chablis to Beaujolais.

The entire region of Burgundy runs from Auxerre in the north to Lyon in the south. There are a total of seven sub-regions: Côte d'Auxerre (Chablis), Côte de Nuits, Côte de Beaune, Côte de Chalonnaise, Mâconnais and Beaujolais. The varietals produced throughout the region are primarily Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, however, Alogoté and Gamay are produced as well. Burgundy consists of a 100 AOCs (Applellation d'Origine Contrôllée), and within those AOCs the percentages of grapes produced are: 59.5% White Varieties, 33.8% Red, and 6.7% of Crémant. Burgundy itself is a very small part of France (12, 194 square miles to be exact), but having the reputation of producing some of the world’s best Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, it can appear larger than it really is. So do take the time to explore these amazing areas!!

Site By Vin | 65
© Copyright 2017 Burgundy And Beyond